INSPIRATIONAL TRIP

INSPIRATIONAL TRIP on way TO SURINAM AND BACK

Searching for a flight to Suriname is difficult in summer months.  You will hear the sound ‘All Full’ across the bureau of the Travel agencies including Mao Asam travel agency in Curacao. Yes full, via Miami full, via Trinidad and Tobago full. ‘Let’s try this one- let’s try that’; so much patience! Until finally, hoping gor a call  ‘wait a minute’. There is One Hope. Finally got closer on ‘their line’ (stretched my neck) to one message exalted through the rest of messages above all Full Flight Companies. Then an announcement, without hesitating “The Fly All Ways Surinam Company starts new schedule on the 25th flying Surinam – Curacao/ Curacao- Surinam. Well, Book that than, I thought silently but impatiently. It was my luck one of those days. Who could resist. And this flight starts on my wish for  25th of June. That date is to be remembered. Starting off on this date, after checking in at the airport,  I checked out this new installed clean furniture and special interior secretly – I had no particular claim for the outside look either; was  as good as measurable standard usual size, one will trust upon. Getting on board, the passengers were being guided and seated, all procedures to make sure were intact to  understand ( ahah, uhuh, understandable)  After all hens on deck, precautions and taking off, then high on air, the relaxing moment started.  After us taking care of Head and Feet, we got surprised with colorful packages snacks and beverage. Now longing for and graceful waiting to be in Suriname, there I was flying high in the sly to get there.

A few weeks there having a great time and enjoying my weeks occupying with my Arts obligations and presenting my New release Prose Book in a come together, time had arrived  to fly again with Fly All Ways.  Too soon but true, want to be a little longer in Surinam.  But, time to go HOME now. Much to my surprise a big crowd were standing there, aligned to check in. Who are they, and in this familiar color?  Well, nothing more than youngsters and leaders from the Bonaire Karate Club. They’d visited Surinam for a 3 days Karate competition event. These Bonaire kids in their outfit got my blushing away, attention, catching their smiling faces, to keep asking.  I got so thrilled to know more and more details. Plus  they were on my flight.

Bonaire is my baby island-(you know, Curacao, Aruba and Bonaire !), so after getting more releasing news; their chilling story here in Surinam, I knew they would come up with some big surprise.  While standing in the queue, waiting to check in I came to know how many medals they ended up with and of course a GOLD CUP.

15 medals and One Gold Cup.  So Happy for the Group and Bonaire Karate Club

 

After running along waiving, I got first to meet in the long queue (most  Competitive groups on their way to Home this early Sunday morning) for passport checking before get to the cozy Waiting Hall.  Slight scaring off red sweaters and sneakers outfits from Trinidad were in front on me and brought my attention to ask again.

DSC09827

Some chit chat you know, of course what they were up to in Suriname. So, I said carefully. ‘I saw the Bonaire group, had some information, how much yours in medals and cups’. ‘More than 10 and One bigger Gold Cup, in total 7. And Second place’. Who is the number one, I asked? SURINAM. Oh Fantastic.  Well I answered quickly, you of course Second. ‘And Curacao Third and Bonaire 4th’ place.  So Trinidad and Tobago the big Second’. Huge! Awesome.

So very inspirational all together in swift of time, I wondered. I counted how I got inspired by the country Suriname in total  4 times coming here. Carifesta, the Literature Group encounter, Javansese Batik studies and Creole African design studies. Than organizational skills with Surinamese Art centers .  Plus totally enjoyed the heavy rain fall ecactly every other day and the language Sranan. So I promised I will get through this language at 5th encounter,

So on board a total quietness, every one caught up in their own world to total relaxing. Seemed all tired but satisfied. The flight was cool.        Disembarking, through passport control,  Oh Too late a snap!

Coming into the Hall with luggage, A crowd: SURPRISE. Yeah. THE Curacao winning group on the photo. Cups, Trofee and Medals in the hand. CONGRATULATIONS CURACAO. Photo Mine quickly. Ah, too late, but …..

DSC09829

AH, I WAS TOO LATE BUT STILL A SNAPSHOT – ONE PHOTO. PABIEN KORSOU.      AND  SURINAM STAYED HOME CELEBRATING.

Asyla ten Holt/funart88 wordpress.com

 

Leave a Reply

